“A MODERN DAY REMBRANDT!”

JASON BARD YARMOSKY

ELDER KINDER 

LYONS WIER GALLERY

May 3 – June 3 2012

 

“A MODERN DAY REMBRANDT!”

 

My “FAB FIVE FAVS!” for this month are inspired by an extraordinary story of determination, ingenuity, love, support, and family!

Image

 

JASON BARD YARMOSKY, a modern day Rembrandt, had an opening on May 3, 2012 at Lyons Wier Gallery where I finally had the privilege of meeting the “Stars” and subjects of his latest work, his Grandparents, Len and Elaine Bard. 

 

I was also able to view his life size paintings up close which blew me away!

 

Jason’s technique, elegant use of light, and detailed brush strokes instantly took me back to the time of our old masters. Immediately, I thought of Rembrandt! 

 

Jason refers to his paintings as capturing “the intersection of the battered body and the vibrant soul.” At the age of 24, I look forward to witnessing his bright future unfold.

 

But, we might not have had this wonderful opportunity if it wasn’t for his 84 year old Grandparents stepping up to their call of duty. 

 

ELDER KINDER pays homage to the idea that age is not a deterrent to living fully, but rather a springboard for exploration.” – Jason Bard Yarmosky 

 

After finishing his studies at the School of Visual Arts and ASL under the mentoring of SHERRY CAMHY, Jason began sharing his voice and making his mark in the world of art.

 

Seeing the promising talent and Jason’s passion to apply his brush to canvas, his Grandparents showed their support by volunteering to be his models/muse and the rest is history.

 Image

When I met Jason’s Grandparents I was reminded of the special bond I had with my grandparents and how inspired I was by their rich history and their stories of survival which has fueled all of my artistic dreams to this day. Within my heart they live!

 

With the special relationship between Jason and his grandparents, along with some whimsical costumes, Jason makes us rethink our preconceived notions of what we associate with the term young, old, masculine, feminine, and sexy with a dash of humor. 

 

From Boxer to Ballet Dancer, Jason defies the notion of Stereotypes and offers the viewer a fresh perspective full of possibility.

 

We’re reminded of what it means to be “Forever Young,” to “Imagine,” to be who or whatever we dream to be!

 Image

The Boxer 

2012, Oil on linen 

72″x60″

 

Tenderness was the first word that came to mind when I saw The Boxer. I was engaged and at the same time moved by the  intense connection between Len and Elaine which is so clearly evident here as she prepares him for the fight. This painting reminds us that when truly united we are bound for Victory.

 Image

Whatever It Is, I’m against it 

2012, Oil on canvas

83 x57in/210.8×14.8cm

 

I love it! Ray Ban like shades, The New York Times, and a polyester Captain America costume, sheer genius! This painting has it all, attitude, intellect, and fun. I have one word for this one, Brilliant!  

 Image

Ballet 

2012, Oil on linen 

44″x32″

 

The juxtaposition of the baseball attire against the fluffy tutu makes this humorous statement as Jason and Len bear all to address the issue of how we perceive masculine and feminine. I was amazed at the accurate execution of brush strokes that brings Len’s skin texture to photographic reality and helped me find beauty in what I would normally find grotesque. 

 Image 

Senior Prom

2012, Oil on canvas 

54 x 36 in / 137.2 x 81.3 cm

 

I just adore the fluffy and luminous prom dresses that come to life in Senior Prom. Jason brings a certain refinement to these otherwise kitsch garments. You can almost hear the dialogue and want to join in on the conversation with girls who want to have fun.

 Image

Horse Feathers

2012, Oil on canvas 

64 x 50 in / 162.6 x 127 cm

 

The detailed brush strokes on the feathers is breathtakingly beautiful and they seem to lift off the canvas. I was drawn to the dramatic and vibrant head dress which reminded me of the importance of staying in touch with my inner child and my Indian heritage.

 

 

Contact

 

Jason Bard Yarmosky

 

http://www.jasonyarmosky.com

845 489 6843

jyarmosky@gmail.com

 

 

JASON YARMOSKY

ELDER KINDER 

LYONS WIER GALLERY

542 W 24 bet 10/11

1.212.242.6220

Lyonswiergallery.com

Opening Reception: Thursday, May 3rd (6-8pm)

 

http://www.jasonyarmosky.com/

http://lyonswiergallery.com/exhibitions.html

 

About ELEMENTSofFIERCE

Mission Statement: "ELEMENTS of FIERCE!" is a celebration of artistic expression! The founder, Blane Charles, explores not what people wear, but who is wearing it? He feels that we all have a special style waiting to be shared with the world. Blane also wants to celebrate freedom of expression, uniqueness, individuality, and authenticity! Stay tuned to my "FAB FIVE FAVS!" where I feature five works of inspiration and beauty from my day to day travels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

