Q and A with BEAU-T BY BLANE part 3 of 3

https://elementsoffierce.wordpress.com/2011/11/17/finding-a-home/The World is our home! That thought, fact, and realization was the starting point in our consultation with my most recent client from Uganda who now lives in West Harlem.With this project we wanted to use each room in the studio to highlight her many travels and fill her space with all of those golden memories. It was also important for me that her studio would continue to inspire her to new discoveries of the World we call home.

Celebrating Africa!

Above the entrance to the studio we added a simple touch that celebrated my clients cultural heritage, a wooden sculpture of the continent of Africa.

http://video.nationalgeographic.com/video/player/places/destinations-places/africa-east-dest.html

Scarf from Rome

In the bathroom, a room that mother nature forces us to visit on a regular basis, we wanted to create a feeling of openness in an otherwise confined space. So for the wall treatment we choose a silk chiffon scarf my client purchased in Rome. It made her feel so good and meant so much to her because of what was going on in her life at the time of purchase that she hardly wore it. Now she gets to enjoy the feelings the scarf evokes on a regular basis.

The Welcoming Cabinet!

The cabinet is the first thing you see when entering the bathroom and had a collection of cleaning products on the top and bottom shelves. Keeping it simple, we decided to place a water cup, her favorite perfume (a gift from her sister), and a beautiful Faberge egg.

Hometown Uganda

The shower curtain, a map of the World, not only threw in a splash of lovely colors, but also served as a reminder of all the destinations yet to be discovered.

http://www.safari-in-uganda.com/en/safariafrika-uganda-services-2-46/video-2-89/video-uganda.html

On one hand, I can count the number of times I remembered to take before pictures when working with my clients. On those few occasions, it was a question of esthetics and documenting the efficacy of my methods of empowerment. Normally, a client is either sent to, or comes to me because the challenges in their lives have become so overwhelming that it’s reflection manifests when the door to their closet or living space is opened. Even on a subconscious level, my intention is to focus on the positive and deflect the negative. We live in a society that loves to feed on negativity on so many levels. I don’t see the need to feed into the already existing frenzy!

With my Design/Wellness Consulting I aspire to inspire others, which is expressed in the Testimonials my clients send to me based on the transformative work we achieve together. With my most recent client, it was simple a matter of “Finding A Home!” Living in a Studio space lends itself to transforming large plains of empty space into dumping grounds for frequently used items. This applies to every room in the space. The Mantle on the Fireplace, the side of the bathroom sink, the extra bookshelf absent of books, the desktop that happens to be bedside, or the pantry that is supposed to be a space for storing dry goods to eat that becomes storing space for beauty supplies!

These photographs were taken by my client because she wanted to be reminded of what she didn’t want her home to ever look like again. Notice that the beautiful fireplace is so inundated with “Stuff” on and around it that we cannot appreciate it. The office is crammed in between the refrigerator and the fireplace and the bookshelf has become destination “Clutterville.”

Clutter!

Fireplace (before)

Fireplace (after)

Captured Moments In A Frames

Important pictures that captured thrilling moments, sitting in boxes, were now showcased in beautiful frames that had also been sitting around with the price tags still on them. Together we laughed when she stated, “It was a bargain! I brought them months ago.”

Curtains (before)

Windows are your eyes to the World and in this space we wanted to open the eyes as much as possible. Going from dark and heavy, to light and airy with these white sheer curtains also added an elegance to the space. The mirrors on the wall in between the white sheer curtains we kept because they opened up the space in a subtle but artistic way. Since the bed was such a large piece of furniture in the studio, we wanted the bed treatment to be colorful and inviting to lounge on. We choose this cheerful fabric purchased in India.

Bed/Windows/Office (after)

The other syndrome I would like to address, is the “Multi-Purpose Syndrome” which manifests in confused clutter of the mind and space. It’s very important to be clear on your intentions for the use of the various rooms in your home. With my latest client, many times the lines were blurred and make-up would find its way to the living room, and library. Cleaning products would find their way into the bedroom, etc. When you live in a studio space, it’s very easy to allow this to happen.

The New & Improved Closet

Together, we found a contained place for everything in her home. This was quite evident in the one closet for the studio. Thanks to the high ceiling, we were able to maximize on the use of the space with clear shoe/boot drawers. We wanted to create easy access to her clothing and to her accessories of which we were all able to place in this large closet.

 

Boutique Flea, part 1

I’m so happy that there’s a charming new vintage boutique in my Brooklyn neighborhood. Boutique Flea opened mid-May and today is the grand opening (7/17)! You can seriously get your shop on for $30 or less, and meet Zenobia (owner) & Blane Charles (stylist)–I’ll be there too;). So, come out to shop and sip while enjoying fabulous music and fun fashions. The event is from noon-6:30pm:

Boutique Flea // 7 Rutland Road // Brooklyn, NY 11225 // 646.479.5138

Check me out dressed from head to toe in items from Boutique Flea, styled by Blane:

green print silk vintage dress $20 // peacock headpiece $10 // two strands of pearls $3 ea. // green resin bracelet $8

DSC_5732

Creative Cookie Make-Over

model: Lesley w. photo: Blane Charles stylist: Blane Charles  dress and accessories: boutique flea

More on Boutique Flea coming soon….stay tuned♥♥!

Testimonials

“I absolutely cannot live without Blane in my life! He went through my entire wardrobe and helped me to finally get rid of those clothes that should have gone a long time ago. He worked with what was left and created a whole new wardrobe for me, mixing items that I would never have thought to put together. All the while he made me feel beautiful and fabulous! I highly recommend a Blane fix! Do yourself a giant favor and make that call..you won’t regret it.” – Charlene,  http://keoghdesign.com/

“An absolutely amazing experience! You not only know how to do your job with passion but you actually truly care about the person you are working with and respond directly to his/her needs and personality. You are a great stylist and advisor. I was very happy with the experience and your perspective on things gave me courage to express myself in the best possible way in the future. Great help with my closet and whole wardrobe….next time I go shopping I am taking YOU with me! warm hugs Blane! ” – Barbara, http://www.linkedin.com/pub/dir/Barbara/Szolc

“Blane, a year later, your style influence continues on… it was a very helpful session! Thanks for the wonderful work you do!” – Anna, www.maupston.com/

“Beau -T By Blane rocks!!! I called Blane Charles on a Monday and he was up here in New Hampshire by Friday re-doing my bathroom, living room, kitchen, dining room, and two bedrooms. He did all that while celebrating Mother’s day, dining out with our friends, and hiking…all by Sunday! My daughter was not happy about having to give up her bedroom to my new roommate but after Blane Charles was done, she said ” This is awesome! I love it! She also loved, her playspace which previously was a dark corner that was never occupied. He completely made over my apt with things I had already so I didn’t have to spend any money on anything!” – Monica, Gyrokinesis Ha Studio NH

“Blane helped me in redoing my apartment and had numerous helpful suggestions. He really could see where to put objects and pieces of furniture and how to arrange things to make the apartment look more comfortable and stylish. And it was a lot of fun doing it with him!” – Tom, ivylawgrp.com/Thomas_Moore.html

“First let me say thank you for helping me to fully organise and clean my apartment. I discarded of stuff that I was holding on to too long and got really great tips on how to utilise my space. You never realised how much junk you hold on to. I have to say after I felt lighter and more energised like I have just opened a door. Oprah Winfrey always says your home should rise up to greet you and I feel as if that is what my home is doing now. Thank you thank you thank you!!!!” – Deborah, Actor

“Editing my wardrobe was the best present I could have given to myself and Blane was exactly the right person to help me through this. Working with him was a truly wonderful experience. Besides being exceptionally talented, Blane has a really big heart and open spirit. There was no judgment. I had two closets full of clothes, most of which I no longer wore or liked. After working with Blane I was left with a bunch of outfits that really worked for me. Best of all I was able to do this with the clothes I already had. He helped me to mix and match in ways that I would never have considered navy and chocolate-brown! Who would have thought! In the end, it made getting dress a lot more fun and I feel really good about the way I look. Now when I go shopping instead of just getting random pieces that I like, I get pieces that compliment what I already have. If you have been putting off doing this don’t wait any longer. It’s a great investment and you’ll really love the new you. ” – Louise, www.adelphi.edu/faculty/profiles/profile.php?PID=0379

“Blane Charles is an incredibly talented individual who has genuine expertise in any number of real-life situations. He has helped me recruit professional high-caliber wait staff for a benefit event at my Museum which saved me several hundred dollars over using an agency. Blane is an excellent organizer, feng shui expert, and first-rate motivator. His enthusiasm is infectious and professionalism first-rate. Blane takes great personal pride in his work and uses each and every opportunity as a chance to learn new skills and make new contacts whenever possible. To paraphrase Albert Einstein, Blane is “passionately curious.” I have gone back to Blane for assistance and problem-solving time and time again with great results every time. ” – Laura, bronx.ny1.com/…/once-upon-a-time-in-the-bronx–va

About ELEMENTSofFIERCE

Mission Statement: "ELEMENTS of FIERCE!" is a celebration of artistic expression! The founder, Blane Charles, explores not what people wear, but who is wearing it? He feels that we all have a special style waiting to be shared with the world. Blane also wants to celebrate freedom of expression, uniqueness, individuality, and authenticity! Stay tuned to my "FAB FIVE FAVS!" where I feature five works of inspiration and beauty from my day to day travels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

