Q & A with BEAU-T BY BLANE part 2 of 3

Q: What do you wish customers knew about you or your profession?

A: That I’m very personable, fun to work with, and come with my sleeves rolled up and let’s get to work attitude! I’m committed to walking away having you feel like you are on top of the world, because you are!

*

Q: How did you decide to get in your line of work?

A: While I was traveling abroad as a Dancer and Model, I enjoyed helping my friends during transitional periods in their lives with their wardrobe and interiors, and also for special occasions.
Starting my own company has allowed me the possibility to extend the fullest service possible to my clients as I work to realize my dreams!

*

Q: What are your most common types of jobs?

A: Wardrobe Edits
Makeovers
Interior Transformations
Seasonal Wardrobe Buys
Special Events

*

Q: Tell us about a recent job you did that you are particularly proud of.

A: One of my clients was hesitant to go for her dream of owning her own Boutique. I was very instrumental in helping give her that push she needed by offering help with merchandising, the layout of the shop, and branding the shop.

https://elementsoffierce.wordpress.com/?s=zenobia

BLANE & ZENOBIA

photo by Janey Brun

THE PRESS!

Press Review for Boutique Flea launch of four new artist, Lesley Williams, Felicia Beyond, Pia Raymond, & John Kohan!

Framed 1st Vintage Purchase

Wall Feature, Zenobia’s first vintage purchase 28 years ago, red satin jacket with Ostrich Plume trim!

Vintage Wallpaper

another one of Zenobia’s favs featuring vintage wallpaper, Montgomery metallic mesh tunic on wall, and our invisible mannequin seated

FELICIA BEYOND

One of Zenobia’s favs featuring our artist FELICIA BEYOND feather brooches/hat

*

Q: Do you do any sort of continuing education to stay up on the latest developments in your field?

A: Yes, I’m a continuing education student at The Fashion Institute of Technology.

*

Q: What are the latest developments in your field? Are there any exciting things coming in the next few years or decade that will change your line of business?
A: I’m excited about the merging of health and wellness within the world of fashion and interiors. I’ve always felt that these two worlds where very connected. I always state to my clients that beauty starts within and make sure that they feel great in their bodies first. “Fashion and Interiors should not be used as protective armor to cover our insecurities, but should be embellishments to the greatness we all uniquely possess!”

This is a link to my Holistic Health Coach that I refer to my clients:

http://www.urbanbodyfix.com/

URBAN BODY FIX

*

Q: Describe your most recent project, what it involved, how much it cost, and how long it took.
A: My last project was a Wardrobe Edit for a client that suffered from “A closet full of clothes and nothing to wear” syndrome.
We took about 4 hours completely emptying all the closet, shelves, drawers, and revisited each item. Based on answers to a series of questions, we would determine whether it qualified to return to the closet, shelve, or drawer. If it didn’t, we would place it in one of our designated piles.
This cost the client $450

“If you want to transform, declutter, energize your home and your life. He’s your man! His ability to utilize your space in a functional and uplifting way is impeccable.” – IYALA BERLEY, www.iyala.com

*

Q: If you have a complicated pricing system for your service, please give all the details here.
A: My services are $225 per hour
If I’m working on a long-term project, we agree upon a rate and draw up a contract for that project.
When I work with students, or someone in a lower-income bracket, I offer a group rate or two hours for the price of one hour.

*
Q: If you were advising someone who wanted to get into your profession, what would you suggest?
A: Make sure you truly love what you do, you are committed, and stay informed!

*
Q: Write your own question and answer it.
A: What do your client’s refer to you as?

“Blane is my Dr. Feel Good!”

“Blane is my good luck charm!”

“He’s my secret weapon!”

*

https://elementsoffierce.wordpress.com/2011/06/17/blane-the-sassy-ladies/

CONSTANCE SCHAEFER FROEHLICH

photos by -LUZ CORONA

Jeorjia Shea, Artist and founder of JEORJIA SHEA Wearable Art,  was very instrumental in helping me snap Connie out of her “Divorced Mommy Coma” and back into her sexy self with here one of a kind hand-painted vintage clothing.

The Search

It’s very important to me to always keep my clients enrolled in the thought making process, and if friends/family accompany them, to respect their input and concerns.

Consulting!

Its key that the client and I are both clear on what their intentions or goals are for the consultation at hand. I’m a strong and advent believer that “We All Have Style!” Some of us just have to dig a little deeper.

Julie Gaglione & Blane

Julie proved to be a most wonderful friend full of love and support. We had a great time collaborating to make Connie shine. You see it’s very important to make client’s close friends your allies, especially when you first meet them and know very little about them.

The Perfect Fit!Options!

Knowing how sizing differs from one country to another is also very key to creating  a true “Superwoman” because it’s important that garment flatters their specific body type. Yes, there is a difference between Petite and Small! I say try it on no matter what! You never truly know until you do!

Feeling Fierce!

Equally important to me, is having FUN with my client! Many times the client is on the defensive or a little uncomfortable on our first consultation with a “Expert!” It’s up to me to help the client and friends relax and know that all my knowledge is to their avail and benefit.

The Finishing Touches!

You can truly ruin a look if the accessories are not up to par with the rest of the look! Fortunately, Jeorjia Shea thinks of everything and tries to create looks when she is Hand-Painting Garments and Accessories. I loved the pop of red with all of the Black in the garment and the gold compliment to the yellow tee-shirt.

Blane At Work!

As former fashion runways, Connie and I pulled together the perfect look for her in no time at all. I enjoyed inspiring Connie to give the “Sassy Ladies” a little taste of her runway skills in the process. After raising three children, she still has what it takes to rule the runway.

Getting Runway Ready!
Working It!
CONSTANCE you still have it girl!

To conclude, Connie and I choose a black Jacket by Express to accompany a black silk chiffon sleeveless cocktail dress by Evan Picone. By the end of our consultation, in two words, Connie was giving “Effortless Glamour!”

TESTIMONIAL

Connie sent me this lovely email after the event;

“It was so nice to meet you at Sassy Ladies Shopping Night Out.  As a divorcing mother of three I found myself in a fashion slump; Not Any More!  Blane has brought me out of slumpy and into sexy!” Thank you for your patience and honesty. I am looking forward to working with you again!”

I was thrilled to find out that Maxine Brown won the grand prize for the evening, a day with BEAU-T BY BLANE, and I look forward to getting Maxine to stop and take time out of her busy schedule to pamper herself. We as entrepreneurs must never neglect taking time out for self. After all, we work really hard at getting our brand up and going. “If we don’t look good our brand doesn’t look good!”

-Please save-the-date for our 2nd Annual Sassy Ladies Shopping Night Out Event taking place again at The Double-Tree Hotel in Tarrytown, NY on Friday, April 20, 2012.

http://www.EventsRemember.com

About ELEMENTSofFIERCE

Mission Statement: "ELEMENTS of FIERCE!" is a celebration of artistic expression! The founder, Blane Charles, explores not what people wear, but who is wearing it? He feels that we all have a special style waiting to be shared with the world. Blane also wants to celebrate freedom of expression, uniqueness, individuality, and authenticity! Stay tuned to my "FAB FIVE FAVS!" where I feature five works of inspiration and beauty from my day to day travels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

