“FAB FIVE FAVS!” #19 celebrates 30/30 The Art Students League

“FAB FIVE FAVS!” #19 celebrates The Art Students League

30 ARTIST

30 YEARS

A Juried Exhibition of League Alumni

October 1- 28, 2011

Phyllis Harriman Mason Gallery

The Art Students League of New York

215 West 57th Street, New York 10019

tel: 212-247-4510

Work by Thirty League Alumni From the Years 1980 – 2010

Gallery Hours

Monday – Friday: 9:00AM – 8:30PM

Saturday and Sunday: 9:00AM – 4:30PM

“Fab Five Favs!” #19

celebrates five of my favorite artist selected for the second

THIRTY ARTIST FROM THIRTY YEARS 1980 – 2010.

Twelve years ago, the League hosted its first 30/30 juried exhibition to celebrate the artistic development of its students from the years 1965 to 1995. Pamela N. Koob, Curator for the League, informed me that Judges Nohra Haime of the Nohra Haime Gallery and Phil Alexandre of the Alexandre Gallery reviewed more than 300 submissions from as far away as Australia and France.

UNITY, 2010, onyx, 19.5 x 8 x 8 in.

-ELISABETH PAGE PURCELL Unity, 2010, onyx, 19.5 x 8 x 8 in.

http://web.mac.com/elisabethpurcell/purcellsculpture/Home.html

My two favorite rejuvenating spaces in between my model sessions at The Art Students League are The Phyllis Harriman Mason Gallery, and The Cafe Atelier managed by Elizabeth P. Purcell. Here we get to connect, and I get to admire her exquisite taste in jewelry. I also found out, in conversation, that Green is her favorite color. This fact makes it all the more wonderful that “UNITY” was chosen out of all 30 submissions for the ASL permanent collection. When I first laid eyes on Elizabeth’s triumph of a sculpture, I was drawn in by its sensual expression. Green, the color of Life, and Unity, the interconnectedness of Life, reminded me of just how vital a role each and every living organism plays in the beauty we see around us from day-to-day, and the importance of respect for all Life. Also drawn by the negative space of the sculpture, I at once wanted to touch, hold, caress, and cradle in my arms this magnificent living organism. Brava to you Elizabeth for reminding me how great it is to be Alive!

CASTEL S. ANGELO, 2011, watercolor, 40 x 60 in.

-ANTONIO MASI Castel S. Angelo, 2011, watercolor, 40 x 60 in.

http://www.antoniomasi.com

amasi@optonline.net

New York’s Golden Age of Bridges

Paintings by Antonio Masi

Essays by Joan Marans Dim

Book Launch & Reception, Monday, November 14, 2011 6:00PM

Fordham University, Lincoln Center 113 West 60th Street

Lowenstein Building, 12th Floor New York, NY 10023

Living in Florence, Italy for seven months, adopted by the Fantoni family, was and still is one of the most amazing highlights in my career as a model and dancer. During my Roma excursion, walking the bridge to Castel S. Angelo was definitely a highlight! In each of Antonio’s watercolors his deliberate play with light and dark pulls you, the viewer in. I also find that his use of scale takes you to the place he portrays. For me, it was wonderful to be reminded of the importance of bridging cultures, bridging gaps in our lives and really benefiting from others experience.

To order book: 800-451-7556 or visit http://www.fordhampress.com

ABSTRACT #2, 2004, bronze, 49 x 16 x 19 in.

-ANNA PERRY Abstract #2, 2004, bronze, 49 x 16 in.

Abstract #2 spoke to the dancer in me and took me back to the marvelous years of dancing in New York and abroad in Canada, Europe, and other exotic locales. The movement of the sculpture brought back all those feelings of freedom that dance ignites. If I had to sum up my impression of Anna’s sculpture, I would say “Rugged Elegance!” Her abstract expression of the dance, and the rough edges of the metal that still evokes a refined beauty, made me revisit all the scars, bruises, and scratches on my shin/legs from all those years of dance. I realize that I shouldn’t be ashamed of them, but that I should celebrate each one as trophies in my career as a dancer!

DRIPPING SUNSET, 2010, watercolor, 40 x 52 in.

-EKATERINA SMIRNOVA Dripping Sunset, 2010, watercolor, 40 x 52 in.

http://momaps1.org/studio-visit/artist/ekaterina-smirnova

http://www.katapostrophe.com/portfolio/menu.html

http://www.artmutt.org/gallery2/main.php?g2_itemId=990

Ever since the first time I met Ekaterina in Robert Cenendella”s class at ASL, I have been following her and admiring the beautiful development of her artistry.

https://elementsoffierce.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/the-truthsayer-celebrating-robert-cenendella/

The “Mood” she creates in each of her watercolors with her play with precision and blur produces a certain drama that evokes such emotion. There’s a certain mystery that also comes through in her work which compels you to analyze what you are viewing even further. The precession of her brush strokes has also brought to life one of the wonderful instructors at ASL for whom I had the pleasure of a nine week pose, Barney Hodes.

Ekaterina & Barney Hodes

THE RED SHOES, 2011, oil on masonite board, 18 x 21 in.

-KONSTANTIN PROKOFYEV The Red Shoes, 2011, oil on masonite board, 18 x 21 in.

I have a pair of Patrick Cox “WANNABE” red patented leather loafers, purchased at HARVEY NICKELS while living in London, that to this day make me impatient for the holiday season to arrive. I feel like Dorothy in the Wizard Of Ozevery time I put on my red shoes! As one of the youngest in the 30 artist selected for this exhibition, Konstantin shows that he definitely has a promising future in the world of art. You feel his vivid sense of plane, and near and far in this piece. I actually felt like I was looking down on his red shoes.The placement of the basic shapes followed by his acute sense of detail shines in the realism of his work. Konstantin’s attention to detail also carries over in the presentation of his work and can be seen in the making of the frame for The Red Shoes. Konstantin is also a student and monitor for Costa Vavagiakis and an amazing photographer.

https://elementsoffierce.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/fab-five-favs-17-features-costa-vavagiakis/

Back detail of The Red Shoes, 2011, oil on masonite board, 18 x 21 in. (photo by Konstantin)

Mosaic wood inlay of frame (photo by Konstantin)

Branding of 2011 for The Red Shoes (photo by Kostantin)

Artist Insignia (photo by Konstantin)

Checking out the catalog! (photo by Konstantin)

It was really difficult selecting five out of 30 amazing artist so I would like to make an Honorable Mention to;

Dina Romanko

for her sculpture

Cassandra Wilson, 2010,

Hydrocal with wood stain finish 29×16 in.

Nancy W. Stevenson

for her pastel

What is Beauty?, 2011 pastel, 18.5 x 14.5 in.

Robin Smith

for her oil canvas

Karina, 2008 oil on canvas, 40 x 30 in.

I had the honor of an exclusive interview with Robin Smith & Dan Gheno who had their television debut on my talk show, “ELEMENTS of FIERCE!”

About ELEMENTSofFIERCE

Mission Statement: "ELEMENTS of FIERCE!" is a celebration of artistic expression! The founder, Blane Charles, explores not what people wear, but who is wearing it? He feels that we all have a special style waiting to be shared with the world. Blane also wants to celebrate freedom of expression, uniqueness, individuality, and authenticity! Stay tuned to my "FAB FIVE FAVS!" where I feature five works of inspiration and beauty from my day to day travels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

