FAB FIVE FAVS #11 (holiday picks)

LIZ & BOB

CENEDELLA

ISLAND AS STUDIO

DECEMBER 7 – 19, 2010

Works of Art STILL Under

ONE MILLION DOLLARS

 

LIZ & BOB CENEDELLA "ISLAND AS STUDIO" December 7-19, 2010

 

 

BROOME STREET GALLERY

498 Broome Street (off W’Broadway)

New York, NY 10013 (212) 226.6085

Gallery Hours: 11AM – 6PM, Tuesday – Sunday

 

www.RCenedellagallery.com

www.LizCenedellaDesigns.com

 

I had the pleasure of being invited to the opening of this exhibit, December 11, 2010, (three days after my birthday), where Liz asked me to select my birthday gift from a spiral copper piped Holiday Tree.

 

LIZ CENEDELLA HOLIDAY TREE neckties $60, scarves $40-$125, pillows $40-$60

 

The special tree was one of the highlights in the exhibit, and displayed the wonderful hand knit scarfs that Liz is known for. My Colbalt Blue Delight hung from the very top of the tree and was worth every step on the ladder to retrieve it!

 

My Birthday Gift, LIZ CENEDELLA hand knit scarf

Bob Cenedella, an art instructor at The Art Students League,  made sure that I was invited to the opening when he found out my birthday was December 8, 2010, while I was a model for his class.

 

 

Blane Strikes a Pose at The Art Students League for R. Cenedella

 

The experience proved to be a “Visual Potpourri” of artistic talent. I found a certain lightness and purity from Bob’s highly populated previous works  which was quite evident from the “Art About Nothing Series.”

Unbeknownst to me, I actually enjoyed viewing Bob’s work while dining for my birthday many years ago at Le Cirque. The renowned mural, Le Cirque, the 1 st Generation, is now installed at the restaurant’s new location on east 58th Street.

 

Le Cirque - The First Generation 1998

 

Bob & Liz are very charming and charismatic! I was touched that after my first evening posing for Bob’s class, he ran out to catch me before entering the elevator to personal make sure I could attend and receive my hand knit scarf from his wife, Liz. Bob wears his wife, Liz’s hand knit art/neckties faithfully to every class he teaches at The Art Students League.

“Bob’s delightful smile and humorous approach makes the political awareness of his work so satisfyingly digestible!”

LIMITED EDITION COASTER "ISLAND AS STUDIO" Invite

 

“Liz made me feel right at with her certain motherly warmness and compassion which is quite evident in her work as a fiber artist! I was blown away by the attention to detail in her work especially the button embellished wall hanging entitled ‘Hawk.’ ”

The exhibit concludes on December 19, 2010, (not the 21st) and is a “MUST SEE” especially if you are looking for that PERFECT GIFT for someone who has it all!

My FAB FIVE FAVS are;

– RC: Art About Nothing Series – “Stretchers” – mixed media $9000

 

RC: Art About Nothing Series - "Stretchers" - mixed media $9000

 

 

– RC: Easel Sculpture – Art Students League – mixed media P.O.R.

 

RC: Easel Sculpture - Art Students League - mixed media P.O.R.

 

 

– RC: “Subway” – mixed media sculpture P.O.R.

 

RC: "Subway" - mixed media sculpture P.O.R.

 

 

– LC: “Hawk” – hand-quilted fabric with button embellishments $9,000

 

LC: "Hawk" - hand-quilted fabric with button embellishments $9,000

 

 

– RC: “Ecology” – brush & ink $2,500

 

RC: "Ecology" - brush & ink $2,500

 

 

 

About ELEMENTSofFIERCE

Mission Statement: "ELEMENTS of FIERCE!" is a celebration of artistic expression! The founder, Blane Charles, explores not what people wear, but who is wearing it? He feels that we all have a special style waiting to be shared with the world. Blane also wants to celebrate freedom of expression, uniqueness, individuality, and authenticity! Stay tuned to my "FAB FIVE FAVS!" where I feature five works of inspiration and beauty from my day to day travels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FAB FIVE FAVS #11 (holiday picks)

  1. Great goods from you, man. I have remember your stuff previous to and you are simply too
    great. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly
    like what you are stating and the best way in which
    you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to stay it smart.
    I can not wait to learn much more from you. This is actually a tremendous website.

Leave a Reply

